top of page

What I've Learned After a Month in NYC


For those who don't know, I am spending this semester in New York City. I am still studying through Belmont, and am here with a group of students. We are working full time internships, and taking classes online. I have been here just over a month, and have three more to go. I have been asked so much about my time here, so I thought I'd go ahead a compile my experiences thus far into a short, sweet lil blog post. I hope you enjoy hearing about what this beautiful, crazy city has already showed me.

Interning

I am lucky enough to be interning with Vera Wang. I am the Bridal Retail intern, so Tuesdays-Fridays I make my way up to the Upper East Side, and get to spend my time learning and working in Vera Wang's flagship store. Interning in the city has already taught me so much about independence, boldness, and adaptability. It takes a lot to wake up almost every morning and find your way around a city you don't know by yourself. This alone has made me more independent, but also being the only intern in my position has showed me how to rely on myself and my own instincts and knowledge. New Yorkers are much more blunt than Southerners, this is just simply a fact. It can be easy to get thrown off by those you work with when you are not used to the cultural differences in how people speak to one another. I have learned to be more bold, and not speak out of fear, but confidence. Lastly, you must always be adaptable in an internship, especially in NYC. Day-to-day you have to be open to whatever your superior asks of you. You cannot be set in your ways; You must be flexible and able to adapt to what is needed of you. This is how you make a positive impression on those you work with. I have noticed being able to do whatever is asked gets the most praise. Being adaptable and flexible will take you so far in the real world.

Being a Small Fish in a Giant Pond

You don't realize how huge NYC is until you're in it for a while. There is no way to know the whole city like the back of your hand, especially not in the time span I'll be here. You have to accept that you are just a tiny fish in an enormous pond with millions of other fish. You have to look out for yourself. Although there are so many people, the odd thing is that can make you feel more alone. I have never experienced feeling so small, but there is a comfort in it.

Me-Time

It is important to take time for yourself, and spend time alone exploring. I have learned not to rely on others, and that it is okay to do things alone. I have also become more comfortable with the unknown. Because literally everything in this city is unknown to me until I explore it for the first time. I have become more comfortable with myself, and realized how important is to be able to rely on yourself.

Not in Nashville Anymore

We got debriefed upon arrival that good ole' Southern Hospitality is not around anymore. To be honest, I prepared for way more coldness from people than I have gotten. New Yorkers ARE nice, just a different type of nice than Nashville-nice. People are not going to have an entire conversation with you about your day in passing by, but they are there if you need something and willing to help. I would say it is definitely a more blunt culture, and sometimes what people say straight to your face may be shocking, but the people aren't cold. As I've heard them say, "We're not mean! We're just in a rush!"

I hope this blog gave you some insight on living in NYC. My perspective may be different than most, but this is what I have personally learned in my month in the city. I cannot wait to see what the next three months bring, and how much I have grown by the end of this whole thing. I have never done a blog post like this, so let me know what you think and if you'd like to see more blogs like this! There's definitely more NYC content to come. XOXO.


bottom of page